Passing Conversations #2

  •  
  • I spent the past week reading Fat Chance: Beating the Odds against Sugar, Processed Food, Obesity, and Disease. It was a surprisingly easy read despite containing a lot of detail about biochemistry, and offered great insight into the science behind obesity. I’ve been trying to lose weight for a while, and this explains why a lot of the common diet tricks don’t work, but I felt like it didn’t tell me much that I didn’t already know, other than the biochemistry. Recommended for anyone who is interested in eating well, but hasn’t read other sources.  Great source on why sugar is really bad for you.

  • This recipe for Beet Greens. Got to make them for the first time this past spring, but this recipe can be used for any dark, leafy green. It’s more of an idea/method than an actual recipe, and I will be employing this in the future.
  • The Idea Channel on Youtube. My husband introduced me to this, and I instantly fell in love. The show poses some thought provoking questions, and most of it relates to nerddom in some form or fashion. They also encourage discussion on the topic in the comments, and then respond to some of them in the next episode. Almost makes me think about making a youtube show, but seriously, that would be so much more work.
  • Corgis on a treadmill!
