Gardening 2013

I live in Oklahoma, and have for the past 10 years. I should be aware of the crazy weather here, but when the weather started to warm up in March, I got very excited for my garden. I had learned from last year. I would do better this year! We bought some plants and more supplies just after Easter, and by the end of the week, we had a pretty looking collection of containers.

8734082748_8d5f7aaa4f_o
From Left to Right: Miniature Rose, Lettuce Bowl, Herb Bowl (with Tri-Color Sage, Spice Island Rosemary, and French Thyme), Strawberry Hanging Basket

What followed is the most bipolar set of weather I think I’ve ever seen. It would be warm, and then a storm system would move in with the threat of wind, hail, or tornadoes. The temperatures would dip back to winter levels. This repeated for the better part of a month.  We did our best to bring the smaller pots indoors and cover the big ones with buckets (with stones on top).

From Left to Right: Arp Rosemary (training for topiary), Strawberries (from last year!), and Parsley (from last year, it'll just go to seed this year, but I want to see it)
From Left to Right: Arp Rosemary (training for topiary), Strawberries (from last year!), and Parsley (from last year, it’ll just go to seed this year, but I want to see it)

Then there were the birds. They attacked my previous gardens, but only on one side of the house, and when I put netting over the plants, they stopped. This spring, they attacked plants on the other side, too! And managed to attack the plants as much as they could through the netting. My poor little plants didn’t stand a chance.

8732968551_04a627caeb_o
Clockwise from Top Left: Juliet tomato (new this weekend, supposed to be Oklahoma hardy), Patio Tomato and Picklebush cucumbers, Stevia (needs to be trimmed!), Baxter’s Bush tomato (barely holding on) and Sweet Basil, and Peppermint in a separate container.

As I write this, my plants are looking pretty shabby. All the photos above are from this weekend.  Part of my problem is that my kitchen is not bright enough to have plants indoors, so I have to take my chances with the elements. I did acquire another tomato to replace one of the dead ones, so hopefully we’ll have better luck.

How are everyone else’s gardens doing? Do you have hopes that the summer won’t be so harsh because the spring was more cool? Are you just giving up and growing things indoors?

