Recipe du Jour: Cornbread Stuffing

8452438554_b5cc32defb_o

Everyone has their own Thanksgiving traditions. It doesn’t feel like Thanksgiving unless it has the same foods that I had in my childhood. But, I’ve had other Thanksgiving dishes that I want to try. But you can’t try new recipes on Thanksgiving, and I don’t have enough friends (or fridge space!) to make doubles of everything to try new recipes.

So, when Andrew came across half-turkeys at our local grocery store, I saw an opportunity. Half a turkey would probably be the perfect size for the two of us, and I would have the chance to try a new recipe. Growing up in the Southern U.S., I’ve often encountered corn bread stuffing and liked it (my mom’s recipe is from the Northeast, so features sausage and bread cubes). It pairs well with turkey, takes gravy pretty well, and, if you’re careful, it can be gluten-free.

I decided to go with a slow-cooker version, partly because I love my slow-cooker, and partly because the oven was already going to be occupied with the turkey. The original recipe can be found HERE at one of my favorite slow-cooker blogs.

This meal is also a great example of how well Andrew and I work together as a team. I emailed him the recipe for the stuffing the night before. He prepped all the ingredients and put them in the slow cooker, prepped the turkey for the oven, and made mashed potatoes. I got home shortly after he had to leave for class, so he left directions for me to turn on the slow cooker and put the turkey in the oven. Everything took about 2 hours. He came back just as things were finishing up, so I just put together a salad, and he carved the turkey and we were good. A meal that might have taken a long time for just one of us to make went a lot faster because we split up the work.

Ingredients:

  •  a pan of baked cornbread (I used a mix to make it)
  • 4 slices of bread
  • 2 cups of celery, chopped
  • 1 large onion, chopped
  • 3 beaten eggs
  • 1/4 cup butter, melted
  • 1 tbsp poultry seasoning
  • 1/2 tsp kosher salt
  • 1/2 tsp black pepper
  • 2 cups chicken or vegetable broth (plus a little more)

Directions:

Try to let your bread and cornbread go a little stale before making this.  Lightly mix all the ingredients except the broth in a bowl, and then transfer to the slow cooker.  Add the broth, and cook on high for 2 hours.  If you like it a little more moist, add more broth after it’s done.

Notes: We forgot to grease the slow cooker before we made this. >.< Not a huge deal, as we don’t mind letting things soak before we wash them, but if you want instant clean, that might be difficult with this recipe.

As for the flavor, we both liked it. It was moist and very filling. Comfort food flavor, if a little bland. It benefitted a lot from some salt and pepper at the table, or gravy over the top. I also don’t think that it could be only a Thanksgiving dish. It tasted light enough that I could see using it as a starch accompaniment to a different, less heavy meal.

