Recipe du Jour: Mirin Glazed Salmon

8359043441_e9ba275636_o

We all could stand to eat healthier, right? No matter what your definition, you could probably stand to make a small tweak or two, right? One of the ways I’ve been trying to eat healthier is eating more fish. This is a small problem when I don’t like many fish unless they’re breaded. Certainly, I can’t eat anything that looks like the animal it came from. And I can’t afford to eat sushi every day. So, I mostly eat salmon. I’ve found a reasonably priced source of wild caught salmon, so I feel ok trying to make it once a week.

This is one of my go-to recipes now. It’s simple, it’s quick, and most importantly, it tastes good! It’s easy to pair with healthy sides (brown rice and broccoli normally). It has an awesome texture that makes it feel like you’re eating something downright decadent. This recipe is originally from Nigella Express.

Ingredients:

  • ¼ cup mirin (a sweet syrup-y japanese cooking rice wine.  Can be found at asian markets)
  • ¼ cup soy sauce
  • ¼ cup light brown sugar
  • 4 (4 oz) pieces of salmon
  • 2 tbsp rice vinegar
  • 1-2 scallions, halved and shredded into fine strips (optional)

Directions:

Mix the mirin, sugar, and soy in a shallow dish that will hold all 4 pieces of salmon, and marinate the salmon in it for 3 minutes on the first side and 2 minutes on the second.  Meanwhile, heat a large skillet on the stove.  Cook salmon in the hot, dry pan for 2 minutes and then turn it over, add the marinade, and cook for another 2 minutes.  Remove the salmon to whatever plate you’re serving it on, and add the rice vinegar to the hot pan.  Pour the dark, sweet, salty glaze over the salmon and top with the scallion strips.  Serve with rice or noodles as you wish, and consider putting some sushi ginger on the table, too.

Notes: Supposedly these make great leftovers in a salad the next day. I’ve never had it happen because Andrew and I always gobble it down the night we make it. I might get the chance now that I’m focusing on eating smaller portions.

