Recipe Du Jour: Chicken ala King

6784662513_83ef638e51_oToday’s recipe comes from my grandmother, like so many others.  This one is a tradition for me.  You see, my mom would always let us pick whatever we wanted for our birthday dinner. We couldn’t choose to eat at a restaurant, but whatever we wanted, she would make.  Mine was always chicken ala king, because she never made it any other time of year.  Now that I’m older, I make it for myself around my birthday every year.

You’ll have to excuse the photo a bit; I didn’t think to take a picture before I started eating.  Thankfully, this dish comes together fairly quickly as long as you’re prepared.

Ingredients:

  • 2 chickens breasts or an equivalent amount of cooked chicken, shredded
  • 1/2 stick butter
  • 2 tbsp flour
  • 1 1/2 cups milk
  • 2 cans mushrooms
  • 1 can peas (or equivalent frozen)
  • Rice, noodles, toast, or biscuits

Directions:

Melt butter in a deep saucepan.  Remove from heat briefly and add flour, making sure it’s well incorporated with the butter.  Return to heat, slowly add milk.  Cook over low heat until it thickens, stirring constantly.  Add mushrooms and meat and let heat through.  Add the peas last, right before serving.  Server over toast, rice, noodles, or biscuits.  Makes about 2 big servings.

Tastiness Factor:

I serve this over rice mixed with chow mein noodles.  I like the little extra crunch.  This is a very warm and comforting dish, but sometimes needs a little salt and pepper.

Reheat Factor:

This actually reheats quite well, though you might need a little milk to thin out the sauce.  That will depend on how thick you let it get when you first make it.

Overall Impression:

Obviously, this is one of my favorite recipes.  I’m really quite surprised that I don’t make it more often.  But it is definitely meant to be enjoyed with friends, so don’t make it just for yourself.

