Real Food: Resources

So, I said in an earlier post, I was going to point you to some resources about Real Food.  Some of these are things that I found early on, some later.  Some are only tangential to Real Food.  But they all gave me good ideas and were part of my motivation for going on this journey.

Websites:

Food Renegade – This was the first website that I came across.  I was linked to it from a Paleo/Primal blog.  The writer, Kristen, posts news articles, recipes, and information on different ingredients.

GNOWFGLINS – Wardeh here has a complicated name for her blog, but it is full of lots of useful information.  In fact, my journey is starting by enrolling in her online courses.  I’m really looking forward to it, and out of respect for her courses, I won’t repost any info from there.  The basic membership is about $10/month, so there’s really no excuse.  Warning: Wardeh is Christian and does talk about her faith in some of her writing.  I’m not bothered by it, but if you are, you were warned.

Keeper of the Home – This blog has several writers.  The focus is on raising families, which doesn’t apply to me, but they do post some neat things on Real Food and living green.  This blog also tends to have a Christian focus sometimes, so you were warned.  The writers have also produced a book: Real Food on a Real Budget.

You can also check out the Weston A. Price Foundation.  They promote old traditional diets as well, but I’ve found the above blogs much more helpful.

Books:

The Omnivore’s Dilemma and In Defense of Food – Michael Pollan has written multiple books on the topic of food.  I recommend reading only one of these, as he sort of repeats the same arguments.  Very eye-opening if you aren’t aware of some of the less savory aspects of our food system.

Real Food: What to Eat and Why – Nina Planck’s book is a very easy read.  She makes everything clear, and is very reasonable in her arguments.  I also like that she uses citations, and even has a bibliography!  It makes me feel like she really did her work researching the topic.  It’s difficult with all the information out there to tell everything apart.

How to Cook Everything – Mark Bittman’s amazing cookbook.  While not specifically about Real Food, Bittman has a preference for using whole ingredients without a lot of shortcut processed foods.  He has how-tos for things like separating a whole chicken into parts, so you can buy the whole bird (cheaper than buying boneless chicken breasts).  This makes it a great addition if you’re trying to learn to make things from scratch.  It’s my kitchen bible now.

Other:

Of course, there’s always other media about the Real Food battle.  I haven’t seen the movie Food, Inc myself, mainly because I suspected I’d been exposed to most of the information in it already.  I know I’ve seen glimpses of factory farms on some cooking/travel shows.  And of course, there’s always Peta, but I think they’re a bunch of fanatics.  (Hence why I’m not linking to their website.)

I’m sure there are many more blogs, websites, books, and other things out there.  But these are the things I’ve been exposed to.  These are the ones I follow and watch for neat info and ideas of how to make Real Food a real option in my life.  I hope some of you find them useful or, at least, interesting reading.

