Dress Your Best 2011

5875301385_d8d90b4f77_o

So, Academichic is hosting their Dress Your Best Week.  I’m a little late to the party, as it technically started on June 20, and will end on July 1.  But that’s ok.  Dress Your Best was what originally inspired me to try my hand at blogging, not just about fashion, but about everything!

In any case, since it’s summer and I don’t dress up a lot during summer, I’m just going to feature one outfit.  I’ll be featuring what I think is my number 1 best feature right now: my hourglass figure.  (It’s a big hourglass, but it’s there.)

Now, normally,  I don’t accentuate this much, because I feel too chunky.  But, I have a large collection of corsets that help out.  It being summer, however, I am not going to wear one of those.  Instead, I’m just wearing a simple black dress.  This dress has been languishing in the back of my closet, perhaps because I don’t like the way the thin straps show off my flabby arms, or the detail that emphasizes my hips.  Not sure.  But I found it and I said “Aha!  Nothing like a little black dress to show off your figure.

I wore this to go to a circus, and so I tried to dress it down by wearing bright wedges, and matching bracelets and feather earrings.  The circus was fun too.  My first experience at one that was more in the classic circus style.

So there you have it.  Be sure to check out all the other great participating blogs, and of course, the lovely ladies of Academichic themselves.

Dress Your Best Week

One thought on “Dress Your Best 2011”

Comments are closed.