Slow-Cooker Wednesday: Tortilla Soup

Slow-Cooker Tortilla Soup
Slow-Cooker Tortilla Soup

Back in my hometown in Texas, there is a little restaurant called Mamacita’s.  Mamacita’s has the most awesome Mexican food, and a great bowl of tortilla soup.  I have spent every year since attempting to duplicate it.  Many recipes have come and gone, but this my friends, I think this may be the closest I have ever come.  You can find the original recipe here.

Ingredients:

  • Chicken
  • Canned Tomatoes
  • Enchilada Sauce
  • Onions
  • Green Chiles
  • Garlic
  • Water
  • Chicken Broth
  • Cumin
  • Chili Powder
  • Bay
  • Corn
  • Cilantro

Tastiness Factor:

In case it wasn’t obvious, I really liked this.  I’ve always said that my ideal tortilla soup was red, either with tomatoes or some other secret.  I added tortilla chips and mozzarella cheese into the bowl, and poured the soup over it, and it was really good.  Not too much heat, but very tasty.

Reheat Factor:

Edited as of July 13: I reheated this in a pot on the stove, and it turned out almost exactly like it did in the crockpot.  I’m still not taken with the amount of corn in it, but the flavor still packs a punch.  Future reheats may require a little more chicken broth or water added, I felt like I got a lot of the “stuff” and not as much of the broth the second time around.

Overall Impression:

With the tortilla chips, I don’t feel that this needs corn in the soup.  I didn’t precook the chicken, just tossed raw (and frozen) chicken breasts into the crockpot and pulled them out and shredded them right before serving.  I also recommend actually chopping the tomatoes, instead of just mashing them.  I plan to tweak it a little, maybe add some celery,  and not add the cilantro until just before serving.  It got kind of funny after stewing for so long.  I bet some avocado on top of this would be great too.  This will definitely become one of my staple recipes.

Edited as of July 13: I forgot to note that if you use tortilla chips, you probably don’t need to add much salt to the soup itself, since the chips are already salty.  This recipe is hitting comfort food status for me; just thinking about a bowl makes me feel good.  Now, if only I can perfect my experiments to reproduce Mamacita’s green sauce.

