Dress Your Best: Hips are Love

4614484770_1983ea6ea0_oOutfit:

  • Brown heels: ???
  • Brown trousers: maurices
  • Draped Top: maurices
  • Silver Belt: ???

Notes:

Ok, I know it’s a little late, but here’s my final Dress Your Best post.  Today, I decided to play up my hips.  As I said in my first Dress Your Best post, I actually like my hips.  With my weight issues, I’m more sensitive about my waist.  To me, my hips are a symbol of femininity, associated with general sexiness and somewhat with childbirth.  And I’m not ashamed to say that I have child-bearing hips.  However, my hips tend to get covered up in the attempts I make to hide my waist, so for Dress Your Best, I really wanted to let them have the spotlight for a little while.

There was a time that I collected belts that are meant to be worn on the hips, but again, like many things, they got shoved to the back of the closet when I gained weight.  Today I pulled one of them back out.  I wanted the belt to be the highlight of the outfit, so I kept the rest simple.  Surprisingly (well, to me), I got numerous compliments on the belt and how nice I looked.  This outfit is definitely a keeper, and it’s inspired me to go in search of my other hip belts.

4614485708_4675670e00_oAlso, wanted to share the awesome trench-coat I got from my big shopping day a few weeks again.  I’ve been wanting a more rainy-day friendly coat, and I was lucky enough to find this one on sale.

Anyway, that’s the end of Dress Your Best week for me.  And I won’t be teaching until a few weeks from now, so this will probably be the last fashion post until then.  I’ll be picking up a lot of summer projects, so stay tuned for updates on those.

