Dress Your Best: Ankles/Feet

Outfit:

  • Shoes: No Doubt via Ebay
  • Skirt: Self made (Pattern McCall’s M5430)
  • Blue top: ???
  • Wooden Heart Necklace: ???
  • Pearl Ribbon Necklace: Freejewelry.com

Notes:

Ok, I have what I call “bendy ankles of doom.”  I say this because I’ll be walking along, minding my own business, and all of sudden one of them bends to the side and I lose my balance.  I never fall over, and I’m never hurt, but it sure is embarrassing.  Surprisingly, this doesn’t scare me away from high heels, even though the bendy ankle thing is more likely to happen.

I have tiny feet, and this makes shoe shopping awesome.  I always seem to find cute shoes in my size.  These heels are actually from the UK, and would you believe it, they’re 4 inches high.  Talk about a height boost.   My feet get a little stiff, but I have no problems in heels that high, because I have naturally high arches.

Thank goodness I was focusing on the heels so much, because after seeing this photo, I’m not sure I like the rest of this outfit.  In preparation for Dress Your Best Week, I started digging through my closet for things I may have forgotten to the depths of comfy clothes and familiar outfits.  Hence the skirt and top.  The skirt I sewed myself, to wear with some corsets for a steampunk festival.  It seemed rather plain without the corsets, and so it got relegated to the back of my closet.  I had plained to take some chocolate colored paint and paint a gear design on it; it was one of those many projects that got set aside.  Now, I’m not so sure it needs it.  I still think it would look cool though.  The shirt was a mistake, I think.  I thought something brightly colored would contrast the pile of neutrals I was wearing, but it really isn’t cut well, and I felt uncomfortable all day.

The great thing about fashion is you try different things and see what works and what doesn’t.  This top will go to the back of the closet for a while, I expect.

One thought on “Dress Your Best: Ankles/Feet”

Comments are closed.