Shopping Day!

4549291043_7a63d3f823_oOutfit:

  • Orchid Tank: Maurices
  • Black Sweater: Target
  • Jeans: Old Navy
  • Black Purse: Rosetti, via TJMaxx
  • Sporty Ballet Flats: ?

Notes:

So today was a shopping day.  It’s not often that I’m bitten by the shopping bug, so when I am, I tend to indulge it.  I came back with a decent haul, but I’m not going to share, because you’ll probably see some of the new pieces showing up in my wardrobe in the near future.

This outfit is another attempt at layering, with the use of lace to draw attention away from my middle to parts of my body that I don’t mind so much.

I am now convinced that TJ Maxx is awesome, just in the sheer amount of money to be saved there.  Like most discount stores, it takes some digging, especially if you’re looking for something in particular.  My friend Erin came with me, and we managed to find her the most perfect little black dress.  Not the heels to go with, sadly, but that will be a quest for a different shopping day.

The tank is from a store named Maurices.  I am utterly in love with this store.  They like to advertise that they cater to all sizes, and it’s true!  They do!  I have several pairs of nice pants that I got from there, and as of today, a nice collection of colored tanktops.  I love that it is not hard to find my size, and everything there is cute, even if it’s not cute on me.

Also, you may have noticed, I have new hair!  Well, a new haircut.  I have the most horrible habit of not going to my stylist as often as I should.  I don’t really have a good excuse, I just tend not to.  This is a problem when I like to keep my hair on the shorter side of medium length.

4549928334_3877e0d7d0_oHere’s a better shot of what the hair looks like.  I’m sure you’ve noticed that it’s a bit shorter than my hair was a couple days ago.  And it’s got some nice face framing elements.  We’ll see in a couple days how those shorter pieces behave when they’re curly.

Hair Lesson Time: Curly hair does not need to be washed every day, and in fact, should not be washed every day.  Washing strips the hair of its natural oils, and in curly hair this causes chaos.  The curls don’t hold together well, and basically become a giant ball of frizz.

And there are many kinds of curls.  My friend Erin has what she calls “Shirley Temple” curls: very tight ringlets that spring back when you pull on them.  Another friend, Michelle has curls that are very loose, almost like waves.  Mine are somewhere in the middle.  The rule of thumb for any set of curls, though, is that curls are shorter than the same hair straight, and generally speaking, the shorter the hair, the more the “spring”.  This is because longer hair is heavier.  So my new cut may come to my chin while straight, but who knows what length it will be when I wear it curly.

All in all, a very productive day I think.  Shopping bug has been soothed.  Until it bites again anyway.

