Basic Steampunk

4542709316_6524502701_oOutfit:

  • Shirt: Target
  • Skirt: Moon brand, shop from back home.
  • Boots: Ebay
  • Pendant watch: Grandma Rita
  • Shell Necklace: Gift from Mom
  • Bag: Don’t remember

Notes:

So I can’t wear the most obvious steampunk stuff to campus, but this is a combo I’ve done before, and I like it really well.  The skirt was a lucky find in what I call my “local hippie store” back home.  I try to stop in because I never see clothing like it anywhere else.

My bag is something I’e had since high school, and I probably should trade it in for something a little more stylish and less beat up.  It doesn’t have nearly as many pockets as a I need now.  But it’s my trusty bag, so I’ll probably keep using it until I find something that I like better.

Also, while I’m thinking about it, I should also note that none of these images are photoshopped or anything.  Though I would prefer if I did.  Those of you who have known me for a while probably know I don’t normally like to take pictures of myself.  This blog is part of what’s supposed to help me deal with that.

4542710512_0aef15b886_oNow, the two awesome parts of this are my boots and my watch.

The boots you can see better here.  They’re kind of a suede like material, and they look dusty because they’re covered in chalk dust from when I teach.  The soles are nice and flat, which would make them nice for walking, except that these are a size too big for me.  I didn’t return them because I wasn’t sure if I’d find another pair like them (and they fit nicely everywhere except for my tiny feet).

4542711080_bfdf66ba45_oThe other item is my pendant watch.  I probably should have the chain adjusted as it is really long, and hangs at an unfortunate location if I’m wearing jeans.  With a skirt though, I don’t think anyone notices exactly where it lands.  This watch was owned by my Great-Grandma Rita, and while it doesn’t look very steampunk, she was born before the turn of the century (the 20th century, that is).  So anything associated with her is also associated with that time period in my mind.  The watch luckily didn’t need any major repairs when I first got it, and works wonderfully.  The only thing about it is that it ticks very loudly, so sometimes it sounds like I’m about to blow up or something.

Do you like this outfit?  Do you think it could be more steampunk?  Do you have favorite items like my watch or my boots?

